Who Is Walter Pless?


A teacher by profession, but is now in his 38th year as a football writer. Has written for "Soccer Action" (Melbourne), "Australian Soccer Weekly" (Sydney) and "World Soccer" (London), as well as for several Tasmanian newspapers. Currently contributing to "Goal!Weekly" in Melbourne and the Australian magazine "Soccer International". Played for Croatia-Glenorchy, Caledonians, Metro, Rapid and University in Tasmania, as well as in the United States of America. Coached University, Metro and Croatia-Glenorchy.

Who's Online

We have 127 guests and no members online

Comparing players from past years with present ones is fraught with danger as the game has changed so much.

Training methods have changed, as has the pace of the game. Even the laws of the game have changed.

And, so has the equipment.

Imagine what a Puskas, Di Stefano or Law could have done with the modern boots and the current balls that are standard equipment today.

A star of the past would, however, probably be a star today as he would train as present-day players train and use modern equipment.

Technical qualities between players of the past and modern-day players are also difficult to compare because the modern player is more of an all-rounder, and he faces opponents who are all fast and technically gifted.

A gifted striker today is not going to come up against a lumbering fullback who finished work down the pits on the morning of the match.

But, back to reality, and to Tasmania, and forget about comparisons with players from an earlier era, or with the current crop.

Listed below, simply, is Ken Morton’s 28-man 1982 Tasmanian squad, which was an excellent selection and one worthy of representing the State.

David Crosson had played for Newcastle United, Eric Young for Manchester United (as, indeed, had Morton), while John Charlton, Steve Craven, Bruce Ward, Ian Parker and Alan Tait were all excellent English imports.

And, imagine the selection headache for Rapid, with Craven and Phil Kannegiesser the two goalkeepers.

Goalkeepers: Steve Craven (Rapid), Phil Kannegiesser (Rapid), Robert Harrison (Olympia), Steven Smith (Croatia)

Defenders: Alan Burton (Croatia), John Charlton (Rapid), Alistair Cochrane (Juventus), David Crosson (Rapid), Chris Hey (Brighton-ICL Caledonians), Peter Huigsloot (Croatia), Martin Harrison (Juventus), Larry Nunn (Rapid), Alistair Payne (Croatia), Alan Tait (Brighton-ICL Caledonians) [Captain]

Midfielders: Dale Blake (Rapid), Perry Forster (Olympia), Steve Kannegiesser (Rapid), Craig Nichols (Olympia), Sergio Pace (Juventus), Willy Peters (Croatia), Ian Parker (Brighton-ICL Caledonians), Michael Southworth (Rapid), Eric Young (Juventus)

Strikers: Billy Kirkpatrick (Croatia), Mark Oakes (Rapid), Peter Sherman (Olympia), Neil Thomas (Croatia), Bruce Ward (Juventus)